Carl Safina

Carl Safina is founding president of Blue Ocean Institute. He is a MacArthur Fellow and a Pew Fellow and has received the Lannan Literary Award and the John Burroughs Medal, among other awards. Audubon magazine named him among the top one hundred twentieth-century conservation leaders. He has been profiled by the New York Times, Nightline, and Bill Moyers. His books include Song for the Blue Ocean (1998), Eye of the Albatross (2002), and Voyage of the Turtle (2006), and he has been featured in National Geographic.